Skip to content

Getting My Ducks in a Row

January 26, 2015

file under WHITE, the color of a Staples receipt

I started entering data into Excel charts this weekend—the colored column headings are my personal, homemade versions of Turbotax questions. Which I have never seen. I use an accounting firm for my annual IRS tax filings. I despair just thinking about reading the government’s fine print on this topic. Or about what changes from year to year.

I’m a classic shoebox record keeper. Which means every year I devote long weekend hours converting paper receipts and invoices to digital data just so I can give the good folks at Hostetler Stott some organized totals.

I didn’t work at the task too diligently this weekend.

I joined friends on Friday night for a meal on the Corner. I slept in both mornings. I made curried sweet potato soup. I used a leaf blower on my flower beds. I swam laps for 30 minutes. I watched a movie.

I have yet to tackle medical expenses and charitable donations. I have many columns still to fill in.

But I am getting my proverbial ducks in a row.

ducksinarow

In addition to catching a few in the act last week out near the Boar’s Head Inn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. critickat permalink
    January 26, 2015 1:49 pm

    Yep, in this household too. it’s that time of year. It’s the time when I cull last year’s accumulated receipts and paperwork and prepare my Canadian *and* American taxes. I call this yearly big sort “THE BIG SNORT”, which represents my attitude toward the whole process. BTW, you’ve got the right idea. I think I’ll go see the local ducks.

    Cheers and good luck.

Leave a Reply

